top of page

 home > who we are > chapter history

Chapter History...

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. ® is an international service organization, founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. in 1908. It is the oldest Greek-letter organization established by African American college-educated women. Today, Mu Omicron Omega, the graduate chapter in Chapel Hill, N.C., is one of 1,061 chapters that provide service on a global level. Visit for more details on our sorority history. 

In 1977, Marva M. Price, Francine M. Clarke and Lynda D. Woodruff recognized the need for a graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ® in the Chapel Hill and Carrboro communities. In December 1977, these three women contacted the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Corporate Office in Chicago, Illinois to secure information pertaining to the chartering of a local chapter. The undergraduate chapter, Theta Pi, on the campus of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill hosted a reception for graduate members who expressed an interest in establishing a local graduate chapter. Following the reception, graduate members formed a cohesive group called the AKAdelics.

For several months, the AKAdelics worked to establish themselves as a visible and viable part of the community. The members participated in the annual Chapel Hill Halloween Festival on Franklin Street and collaborated with the members of Theta Pi to serve as tutors in mathematics, science and reading for the Upward Bound Program. Each service project the members planned and implemented, increased the sorority’s visibility in the Chapel Hill and Carrboro communities.

On January 28, 1979, the dream inspired by Lynda D. Woodruff was realized. Eighteen charter members and twenty-six (26) additional members affiliating with the group, gathered at the Country Squire Steak House on Highway 15-501, for the chartering of the Mu Omicron Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. ®.

Evelyn R. Syphax, 9th Mid-Atlantic Regional Director, conducted the chartering ceremony, with the assistance of Dr. Lucille Piggott, former National Secretary and 4th Mid-Atlantic Regional Director. 


Charter Members

Janifer T. Batts, Kathy E. Birkhead, Carolyn C. Bishop, Faye D. Cates, Francine M. Clark, Pearl B. Floyd, A. Oveta Fuller, Carol E. James, Sheril Parks, Marva M. Price, Brenda E. Pugh, Deborah C. Ray,  Rochelle D. Small, Doris K. Tyler, Vivian H. Walker, LaDonna N. Washington, Diane E. Waters and Cerise Wynn

Additional Members 

Regina R. Alston, Kim Armstrong, Stephanie Ballentine, Gloria Berry, Maxine Brown, Ingrid E. Casterlow, Gloria S. Chandler, Ellen Griffiths, Veronica Hackney, Valerie Hall, Cheri Harrell, Darlene Harvey, Naomi House, Victoria Hoke, Jacqueline James, Johnetta James, Lula Joyce, Stephanie Loadholt, Nanetta Lowe, Marolyn Manley, Donnis Perry, Valerie Rustin, Pamela Scriven, Lanella Smith, Patricia Timmons and Suzanne White

“Surround yourself with people who have a vision and not their own agenda.”

-- Sheila C. Johnson --

bottom of page