Mu Omicron Omega

In 1977, Marva M. Price, Francine M. Clarke, and Lynda D. Woodruff recognized the need for a graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ® in the Chapel Hill and Carrboro communities. In December 1977, these three women contacted the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Corporate Office in Chicago, Illinois to secure information pertaining to the chartering of a local chapter. The undergraduate chapter (Theta Pi) on the campus of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC Chapel Hill) hosted a reception for graduate members who expressed an interest in establishing a local chapter. Following the reception, graduate members formed a cohesive group called the AKAdelics.


For several months, the AKAdelics worked to establish themselves as a visible and viable part of the community. The members participated in the annual Chapel Hill Halloween Festival on Franklin Street and collaborated with the members of Theta Pi to serve as tutors in mathematics, science and reading for the Upward Bound Program. Each service project the members planned and implemented, increased the sorority’s visibility in the Chapel Hill and Carrboro communities.


On January 28, 1979, the dream inspired by Lynda D. Woodruff was realized. Eighteen charter members and twenty-six (26) additional members affiliating with the group, gathered at the Country Squire Steak House on Highway 15-501, for the chartering of the Mu Omicron Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ®.


Evelyn R. Syphax, 9th Mid-Atlantic Regional Director, conducted the chartering ceremony, with the assistance of Dr. Lucille Piggott, former National Secretary and 4th Mid-Atlantic Regional Director. 

Charter Members

  • Janifer T. Batts

  • Kathy E. Birkhead

  • Carolyn C. Bishop

  • Faye D. Cates

  • Francine M. Clark

  • Pearl B. Floyd

  • A. Oveta Fuller

  • Carol E. James

  • Sheril Parks

  • Marva M. Price

  • Brenda E. Pugh

  • Deborah C. Ray

  • Rochelle D. Small

  • Doris K. Tyler

  • Vivian H. Walker

  • LaDonna N. Washington

  • Diane E. Waters

  • Cerise Wynn

Additional Members 

  • Regina R. Alston

  • Kim Armstrong

  • Stephanie Ballentine

  • Gloria Berry

  • Maxine Brown

  • Ingrid E. Casterlow

  • Gloria S. Chandler

  • Ellen Griffiths

  • Veronica Hackney

  • Valerie Hall

  • Cheri Harrell

  • Darlene Harvey

  • Naomi House

  • Victoria Hoke

  • Jacqueline James

  • Johnetta James

  • Lula Joyce

  • Stephanie Loadholt

  • Nanetta Lowe

  • Marolyn Manley

  • Donnis Perry

  • Valerie Rustin

  • Pamela Scriven

  • Lanella Smith

  • Patricia Timmons

  • Suzanne White